The Church of Multiplication is a Catholic church in Tabgha on the northwest shore of the Sea of Galilee in Israel. The modern church is based on the site of two previous churches.
The church was expanded considerably around year 480 and the mosaic floors were also added around this time. These renovations are attributed to the patriarch Matryrios. In year 614 the Persians destroyed the original Byzantine church, and the exact site of the shrine was lost for some 1,300 years. In 1888 the site was purchased by the German catholic society, which was associated with the Archdiocese of Cologne in Germany.
One of the most beautiful mosaic floors in the country belong to the Byzantine church. The mosaics cover the two transepts and the spaces between the pillars and has a free-form design of birds and plants. The lotus flower (not found in this area) shows the influence of the landscapes of the Nile, popular in Roman and Hellenistic art.
The round tower in the right transept is to measure the water level in the lake; Greek letters are the numbers 6 to 10. Near the altar the mosaic floor depicts a breadbasket flanked by two fish. Under the altar table you will see a block of natural limestone. It is supposed to be the rock on which Jesus placed the loaves and fishes. The church belongs to the Order of the Benedictines and is open to the public.
It is believed to be the place where Jesus fed 5,000 people with 5 loaves and 2 fish.
And he directed the people to sit down on the grass. Taking the five loaves and the two fish and looking up to heaven, he gave thanks and broke the loaves. Then he gave them to the disciples, and the disciples gave them to the people.